Between March and May 2012 the Commission asked for public input into the development of the National Anti-Racism Strategy. Public (23) meetings were held in 17 locations across every state and territory, involving nearly 700 people. The Commission received nearly 1600 online surveys, 80 submissions made using the online submission template and 123 formal submissions.

Download Consultation Report

Consultation Report (doc)

Consultation Report (pdf)

Download discussion paper

A discussion paper was released in March 2012 to guide the consultation process. It is available here:

Discussion Paper (doc)

Discussion Paper (pdf)



The names of individuals and organisations that submitted a response to the discussion paper are listed below.

The Commission is only able to publish submissions that meet the publication guidelinesand that comply with the Commission’s web accessibility standards in line with the Disability Discrimination Act 1992. 


The Australian Human Rights Commission reserves the right to edit submissions, where appropriate, in order to protect the identity of third parties, or where otherwise appropriate. The submissions may contain errors. They do not represent the views of the Commission or its partners.

Responding Individuals & Organisations

  1. Philip Letchford
  2. Aileen Ferguson
  3. Alfred Schenk
  4. Phil Johnson
  5. Saul Moss
  6. Bill Glavin
  7. Name withheld
  8. Denis Mulheron
  9. Confidential
  10. Glenn Davis
  11. Michael Correll
  12. Mike Prowse
  13. John Murphy
  14. Robert Cassidy
  15. Patrick McCauley
  16. Confidential
  17. Confidential
  18. Name withheld
  19. Daniel Willoughby
  20. Bob Napier
  21. Heather D'Cruz
  22. Colin Delane
  23. Confidential
  24. Australian Critical Race and Whiteness Studies Association
  25. Confidential
  26. Confidential
  27. Brad Pope
  28. Confidential
  29. Institute for Democracy and Human Rights
  30. Garry Hogan
  31. Confidential
  32. Southern Migrant and Refugee Centre
  33. Chinese Community Council of Australia (VIC chapter)
  34. Elaine Page
  35. Multicultural Youth Advocacy Network NSW
  36. Jatinder Kaur
  37. City of Whittlesea
  38. Peter Evans
  39. Women's Legal Centre
  40. Community Centres SA Inc.
  41. Executive Council of Australian Jewry
  42. Patricia Wagstaff
  43. Haydn Rigby
  44. Chinese Association of South Australia
  45. Liverpool MRC
  46. Dr Peter Gale
  47. All Together Now
  48. Susan Burke
  49. Asylum Seeker Resource Centre
  50. Lin Morrow
  51. Confidential
  52. Beyond Blue
  53. City of Darebin
  54. Netball Australia
  55. Adelaide Migrant Health Service
  56. Confidential
  57. Confidential
  58. Confidential
  59. Metro MRC
  61. Name withheld
  62. Nathalie Haymann
  63. John King
  64. National Faculty of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health, Royal Australian College of General Practitioners
  65. Yarra City Council
  66. Federation of Ethnic Communities’ Councils of Australia
  67. Townsville Multicultural Support Group
  68. Civil Celebration Network Inc.
  69. NSW Aboriginal Land Council
  70. Women’s Health West
  71. Human Rights and Security Cluster, University of South Australia
  72. Barbara Baird
  73. Australian Baha’i Community
  74. Human Rights are Aussie Rules Project
  75. Office of the Anti-Discrimination Commissioner, Tasmania
  76. Shelter S.A.
  77. Refugee Council of Australia
  78. Confidential
  79. SBS
  80. Student Representative Council , University of Sydney
  81. Multicultural Council of the Northern Territory
  82. Challenging Racism Project
  83. Anti-racism academics
  84. Media RING
  85. Reconciliation Australia
  86. Youth Art for Change forum
  87. Mental Health in Multicultural Australia
  88. Ethnic Communities' Council of Victoria
  89. Access Community Services Limited
  90. Victorian Multicultural Commission
  91. Victorian Aboriginal Child Care Agency Co-Op. Ltd
  92. Anne Barton
  93. Ken Brookes
  94. Desert Knowledge Australia
  95. Australian Centre for Disability Law
  96. James Cook University students
  97. Dr Gilbert Caluya
  98. City of Monash
  99. Ballarat Catholic Social Justice Commission
  100. Multicultural Youth Advocacy Network Australia and the Australian Youth Affairs Coalition
  101. Malcolm Brandon
  102. Settlement Council of Australia
  103. Confidential
  104. ACT Torres Strait Islanders Corporation
  105. Ethnic Communities' Council of Queensland
  106. Jeremy Jones AM
  107. Australians for Native Title and Reconciliation
  108. ACT Human Rights Commission
  109. Australian Psychological Society
  110. Australian Indigenous Psychologists Association
  111. Confidential
  112. Chamber of Commerce and Industry Queensland
  113. Law Society of the Northern Territory
  114. Ipswich Community Cultural Leaders
  115. Confidential
  116. Refugee Resettlement Advisory Council
  117. Cultural Intelligence
  118. Victorian Foundation for Survivors of Torture
  119. The Greens NSW
  120. Australians Indigenous Doctors’ Association
  121. Chairman, South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission
  122. National Congress of Australia’s First Peoples
  123. Indigenous Higher Education Advisory Council

Confidentiality and use of information

The information you provide in this survey or online submission form may be used to inform development of the National Anti-Racism Strategy. You do not need to provide your name or other information that may identify you. By submitting a survey or online submission form, you provide your permission for the Australian Human Rights Commission to use the information you provide in the text of the Strategy and other Commission publications. Whilst every endeavour will be made to ensure confidentiality, the Commission is obliged to determine any request for access to documents in accordance with the Freedom of Information Act 1982.

The Commission cannot guarantee the security of any electronic exchange of information - read the Commission’s internet privacy policy. If you are concerned about providing information electronically, you may make a written submission to the Strategy by responding to the questions in the discussion paper.