Commission extends deadline for Awards nominations

Monday 14 August 2017

The Australian Human Rights Commission today announced it is extending the deadline for nominations for this year’s Human Rights Awards to 4 September 2017.

Commission President, Emeritus Professor Rosalind Croucher, urged individuals, businesses and organisations to nominate across the eight award categories:

  • Human Rights Medal
  • Young People’s Human Rights Medal
  • Business Award
  • Racism. It Stops With Me Award
  • Media Award
  • Tony Fitzgerald Memorial Community Individual Award
  • Community Organisation Award
  • Law Award

Potential nominees may have taken action to overcome discrimination or infringements of human rights; or encouraged social harmony in areas such as race relations, gender equality and the treatment of children and young people.

The Commission President said she is also seeking nominations from people, businesses, or organisations that have enhanced the rights of Indigenous Australians; promoted equal opportunity for people with a disability; countered discrimination on the basis of age or sexuality; or increased awareness of issues of injustice or inequality in Australia.

“We all know someone, or a business or organisation, that deserves to be recognised for their inspiring work,” said Commission President, Emeritus Professor Rosalind Croucher.

“These awards recognise the commitment many people have to ensuring our rights and freedoms are enjoyed by all, on an equal basis.”

Previous winners in the prestigious Human Rights Medal category include Pat Anderson, Peter Greste, Eddie Mabo, Rt Hon Malcolm Fraser, Ian Thorpe, Jeremy Jones, Professor Fred Hollows, Sister Clare Condon and Dorothy Hoddinott.

To be eligible for nomination, applicants must be an Australian Citizen or have Australian permanent residency at the date of nomination.

Multiple nominations are possible, but a separate nomination is required for each award category.

Details and nomination forms are online at